Village & Panchayats

Growth of Panchayati Raj in Arunachal Pradesh

Daying Ering Committee: In the year 1964, the Government of India through the Governor of Assam, Shillong appointed a Committee of 4 Members under the chairmanship of Shri D. Ering, the then MP & Parliamentary Secretary (MEA) to consider the Extension of Local Self Government system at the level of village and subjects and jurisdiction to be assigned to be assigned to the Local Self Government.

Daying Ering Committee Report: The Daying Ering Committee submitted its report to the Governor of Assam on 4th January, 1965 with approximately 50 recommendations. The recommendation relating to the Local Self Government in NEFA recommends / nomenclatures of the Local Self Government structures as same as prevalent in rest of the country. Further, the Committee suggested four types of institutions of Local Self Government as below:

  • at village level-Gram Panchayat
  • at Circle level-Anchal Samiti
  • at District level-Zilla Parishad
  • at Territory level-Agency Advisory Council

The recommendation of the Daying Ering Committee was accepted by the Government of India. The President of India promulgated the North East Frontier Agency Panchayat Raj Regulation (Regulation 3 of 1967) w.e.f 2nd October, 1968. The first Election of Panchayats in NEFA was therefore, held in the year 1969. Since then, the Panchayat Elections are held regularly in Arunachal Pradesh.

Regular Panchayat Election: The State has been conducting regular Election of Panchayat Bodies. The Elections were held in the year 1969, 1973, 1976, 1980, 1983, 1987, 1992, 1997, 2003 ,2008 and 2013. The last election in the year 2008 and 2013 were held under the provisions of “The Arunachal Pradesh Panchayati Raj Act, 1997”, which was based on Constitution 73rd Amendment Act, 1992.